The Medicine Hat Tigers showed that you might not be able to count them out during the current WHL season.

After falling into a quick 3-0 hole against the Rebels in Red Deer on Friday night, the Tigers rallied for an exciting 5-4 victory, and they didn’t even need to go to overtime or a shootout to get the win.

With the teams locked in a 4-4 draw, centre Jayden Hart potted the winner for the visitors with 4:33 to play in the third to disappoint most of the 4,810 spectators at the Enmax Centrium.

In Friday’s encounter, the Rebels jumped out to a 3-0 lead by the 5:02 mark of the opening frame.

Marc McCoy opened the scoring for Red Deer, and Charles Inglis tipped home a shot from the point on the power play to put the Rebels up 2-0.

Just 57 seconds after Inglis’s goal, Tyson Ness extended the Rebels edge to 3-0.

Tigers starting goaltender Dawson MacAuley was pulled after Red Deer’s third goal making three stops on six shots.
From that point, the Tigers rallied. Before the first period ended, Dylan Bredo scored a short-handed goal to cut the Red Deer lead to 3-1.

In the second, the Tabbies received power-play goals from Trevor Cox and Miles Koules to tie the contest up 3-3.

Medicine Hat took its first lead at the 8:42 mark of the third, when Cox scored his second of the contest on another power play. Inglis tied the contest up at 4-4 a short time later on a Rebels power play. That marker set the stage for Hart to get the winner.

Marek Langhamer turned away 25 of 26 shots to pick up the win in goal for the Tigers coming in for a relief appearance. Patrik Bartosak stopped 39 shots suffering the loss in the Red Deer goal.

Including playoffs, the Tigers have won their past 12 games against the Rebels in Red Deer.

The Tigers return to action Saturday as they host the Regina Pats (7:30 p.m., The Arena).

For more outstanding local content, please visit the Medicine Hat News website by clicking here.

More News
Employment Opportunity
5 days ago
2017- Most Improved Player Award
1 day ago
2017 - Most Goals Award
1 day ago
2017 - Leading Scorer Award
1 day ago
2017 - Leadership Award
2 days ago
2017 - Community Service Award
2 days ago
2017 - Cliff Bast Memorial Best Defenceman Award
2 days ago