Alberta Sports Hall of Fame

The Medicine Hat Tigers were granted an expansion franchise in the Western Canada Hockey League for the 1970-71 season.  Since then, the team has captured an amazing 5 league championships.  However, it was their back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships that garnered their inclusion into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame.

The determination to build a winner started at the top, and Owner and President George Maser was no exception.  George assembled a hockey staff that was arguably the best in all of junior hockey.  Together, they were able to identify such talented players as Mark Fitzpatrick, Rob DiMaio, Mark Pederson, Dean Chynoweth, Trevor Linden, Wayne McBean and Scott McCrady.

The Tigers became the only Alberta-based team to ever win back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships.  Congratulations to this most deserving franchise, the Medicine Hat Tigers.


1986-87 Medicine Hat Tigers (from left to right)
Back Row: Rocky Dundas, Wayne Hynes, Kevin Knopp, Wayne McBean, Scott McCrady, Keith Van Rooyen, Mark Kuntz, Kirby Lindal, Rob DiMaio

Middle Row: Terry Hudec (Assistant Trainer), Doug Ball (Head Trainer), Mark Pederson, Jeff Wenaas, Neil Brady, Mike MacWilliam, Trevor Linden, Jamie Huscroft, Dean Chynoweth, Rod Williams, Daryl Henry (Public Relations)

Front Row: Mark Fitzpatrick, Dr. R.I. Mackenzie (Team Physician), Guy Phillips, Bryan Maxwell (Head Coach), Dale Kushner, George Maser (Owner), Russ Farwell (General Manager), Ron Bonora, Dr. J.A. Cranston (Team Physician), Kelly Hitchins



1987-88 Medicine Hat Tigers (from left to right)
 Back Row: Terry Hudec (Assistant Trainer), Vince Boe, Wayne Hynes, Murray Garbutt, Clayton Gainer, Dwayne Brook, Cal Zankowski, Mark Woolf, Kirby Lindal, Doug Ball (Trainer)

Middle Row: Jeff Chynoweth (Public Relations), Darren Taylor, Wayne McBean, Neil Brady, Mike Barlage, Jason Prosofsky, Dan Kordic, Trevor Linden, Neil Wilkenson, Ryan McGill, Jason Miller, Daryl Henry (Public Relations)

Front Row: Mark Fitzpatrick, Dr. R.I. Mackenzie (Team Physician), Mark Pederson, Barry Melrose (Head Coach), Russ Farwell (General Manager), Dean Chynoweth, George Maser (Owner), Rob DiMaio, Scott McCrady, Dr. J.A. Cranston (Team Physician), John Colville